The Sun is Also a Star | Book Review

the-sun-is-also-a-star

Title: The Sun is Also a Star

Author: Nicola Yoon

Synopsis:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Rating: 4stars

This book has been a huge deal in bookish blogs and on Instagram, and rightly so. While it’s not one of my all time favorite books, I really enjoyed it. The main story takes place over one day in New York City. Natasha and Daniel meet, Daniel is smitten right away, and Natasha takes a longer time to come around.

The writing style was really different in that instead of long chapters, there were shorter segments written from different people’s points of view. It made it really quick and fun to read. I really liked getting to know little snippets about the side characters, like what they were feeling and what their backgrounds were, even if the interactions they had with the main characters were so fleeting.

I expected this story to be a bit cheesy, but it never was. I liked how the relationship developed between Natasha and Daniel, and how well their different personalities came together. Natasha is more cynical and scientific, and Daniel is a poet with romanticized ideas about things.

I won’t spoil the ending, but I went on a bit of an emotional roller coaster at the end and I didn’t expect it to all come together like that. I definitely recommend this book if you’re looking for a fun and easy read. It’s cute, it’s quick, but it remains grounded and doesn’t go too over the top with cheesiness or romance.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review, however all opinions are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

