Dream Author Panel

Wouldn’t it be so fun to get to see your favorite authors at a panel together? That actually might be possible! Eventbrite is the largest self-service ticketing platform in the world that helps people find and plan events and conferences in your area. As far as my dream panel goes, there are so many authors I love so it’s really hard to narrow it down to a few, but I tried to stick with a cohesive theme for it.

My favorite genre is magical realism. I cannot get enough of it. I love the whimsy and magical elements in a real world setting. I thought that would be the perfect panel theme: magical realism authors.

dream-author-panel

Sarah Addison Allen – She is, hands down, my favorite author. Her way of writing helps me perfectly imagine these gorgeous southern towns in her books and there is always a dash of magical realism and whimsy. Can I also take a second to talk about the foods and recipes she adds in her books? They really add something special to the experience as she describes the foods and their different powers/properties, like in Garden  Spells, and then will include the recipe in the book. I love the characters she creates and I would happily pack up and move to any of the towns in her books because she makes them seem so charming.

Charles de Lint – His books were my first experience with the magical realism genre, before I even knew that was an actual genre. I liked fantasy books and the cover of Dreams Underfoot caught my eye. The beginning of the synopsis says, “Welcome to the music clubs, the waterfront, the alleyways where ancient myths and magic spill into the modern world.” Once I read that one, I was hooked and bought armfuls of his other books. I love the characters he creates and how their stories intertwine in the urban, yet magical town of Newford.

Alice Hoffman – After reading all of Sarah Addison Allen’s books, I needed more magical realism in my life. So many people on book forums recommended Alice Hoffman. I decided to give Practical Magic a try, and my need for this genre has been satisfied once again! I’m sure most people have read the book or at least seen the movie, but it’s about two girls, Gillian and Sally, who live with their elderly aunts who “encourage the whispers of witchery [from the townspeople], with their darkened house, their love concoctions and their crowd of black cats”.

I would love to find out how the authors toe the line between complete fantasy worlds and and the “real” world when writing, because it’s a delicate and perfect balance they create, in my opinion. It seems like it would be too easy to just go all out and make a complete fantasy world, but to balance it with contemporary seems like it needs to be carefully done so that it remains believable. I would also love to know what inspires them to add that dash of magic into their books because that’s what makes them so special, in my opinion.

Which authors would make up your dream panel?

Leave a Reply

